A little about me…

me_2013I believe it is the responsibility of every artist to stimulate the mind through a visual or auditory medium, regardless of the subject matter. I believe that one is never meant to produce a work if, during the creation process, one finds it no longer enjoyable. It is a mentally stimulating experience, the act of creating; therefore, I hope my art is as captivating for my viewers as it is for me, the artist.My work largely represents the new human experience in the twenty-first century. I am fascinated by the restraints and liberations of our modern society. I am fascinated by life, death, and rebirth, and I believe these thoughts are more intertwined than we know. The idea that we are all made of the same “stuff” is a concept that has driven my art for the last few years. Whether by some spiritual design or by a cosmic coincidence, our very existence and place in the universe motivates our curiosity and our artistic production, two characteristics that make us distinctly human. As such, I believe it is essential to nurture these desires so that we can continue to grow as a people.

My artwork is very personal. I create pieces because I want to, not because I think they will sell. My primary mediums are drawing, painting (oils and gouache), and digital photography.

Drawing has been my passion from the moment I could first hold a pencil. I honestly believe I was drawing before I was talking…it had the ability to make long car rides pass surprisingly quickly; it had the ability to make me forget about the day’s troubles; and it had the ability to make me believe I was more than what I seemed on the surface. I think anyone who can say they have experienced this sensation knows what I am talking about – it makes that person an individual with a purpose and a voice.

When I reached the age of fifteen, I began playing with paint and immediately discovered a passion for it. I absolutely love painting as a process (indeed, I find it very therapeutic), though I am particular about my finished pieces. I choose to display more drawings than paintings, because I find that I am more satisfied by the former. As for photography, I have been experimenting for the past four years or so. I am fortunate enough to have had the opportunity to travel to distant places throughout my life. I love experiencing new cultures, learning history and languages; in short, I love traveling. It is an enthusiasm I hope to indulge for the rest of my life. My photographs, therefore, reflect my experiences while traveling.

I cannot emphasize enough the personal quality of my artwork. When I work, I often feel like I am opening myself to be as vulnerable as I can possibly be; I create works that deeply reflect my thoughts and emotions, both as an artist and as a human being.

Hope Batterson received a Bachelor of Arts at Bradley University for Art History and French Language. She spent a semester abroad in Rome, studying in depth Italian Renaissance Art and Architecture; this inspired her to pursue the era during her graduate studies. Though her concentration is Art History, Hope has demonstrated a deep passion for the visual arts, studying drawing and painting through Bradley University’s Fine Arts department.

Hope is currently pursuing admission into various doctoral programs across the country for graduate study. She has worked as a Curatorial Intern at the Peoria Riverfront Museum and the Figge Art Museum in Davenport, a Fine Arts Instructor for children aged seven to twelve through the Peoria Park District, and as a Gallery Assistant for her university. Please see resume for complete professional and academic history.

Commissions available upon request. Please send all inquiries to artwork.hopebatterson@gmail.com.

2013

Leave a Reply

